Skip to content ↓

Great Alne Primary School


Great Alne Primary School Governing Board 

The Governing Board consists of up to 11 people. This includes the Headteacher, a staff governor, a Local Authority governor, 3 parent governors and 4 co-opted governors. 

Our role is to offer strategic guidance, rather than getting involved in the operational aspects of a school. We meet at least once a term and each meeting focuses on different aspects of the school and the reports governors make back to the whole body. 

We have designated governors responsible for areas such as Safeguarding, SEND, Wellbeing, Finance, Curriculum and School Performance.

We regularly attend training courses to ensure we are fulfilling responsibilities and can maintain oversight of updates to educational policy.

Current Members 

Peter Wain - Interim Chair of Governors Term of office from 13 Jun 2023 to 31 Aug 2024 First appointed on 13 Jun 2023

Julie Bevan - Governor responsible for SEND
Julie lives in Great Alne and is an active member of the village as well as being our Vice Chair. She also brings legal expertise to the school having worked within Family Law for many years.   

Doug Badger - Governor responsible for Reading

Co-opted Governor Term of office from 1 Jan 2022 to 31 Dec 2025. First appointed on 1 Jan 2022
Doug was a social worker for 10 years, and a social work lecturer at Reading University for 25 years. Doug lives in the retirement village in Great Alne with his wife, Krys. They have two sons who live in Stratford, and two granddaughters aged 7 and 10. Along with Julie, Doug focuses on Safeguarding and SEND. 

Jo Dunbar - Staff Governor Term of office from 1 Nov 2022 to 31 Oct 2026 First appointed on 1 Nov 2022

Jo is our staff governor. She is our lead teaching assistant and runs wraparound care at school. 

Nick Thompson  - Governor responsible for Finance and Attendance Co-opted Governor Term of office from 1 Jan 2022 to 31 Dec 2025. First appointed on 1 Jan 2022

Nick is a former accountant and with his expertise leads Finance for the governing body. He lives in Alcester. 

Matt James Governor responsible for Safeguarding  Co-opted Governor Term of office from 29 Mar 2023 to 28 Mar 2027. First appointed on 29 Mar 2023

Peter Robinson Governor responsible for SEND  Co-opted Governor Term of office from 23 Jan 2023 to 22 Jan 2027. First appointed on 23 Jan 2023

Karen O'Shea -  Co-opted Governor Newly Appointed

As a school we recognise that a diversity of thought, voices and  perspectives is essential to good governance and the effective running  of any organisation. We regularly collect diversity information from our governors and, depending on current data, can use this to:

  • target recruitment to address gaps in experience and diversity
  • develop and adapt board practices to ensure full participation
  • prioritise training and awareness-raising in identified areas
  • address potential ‘blind spots’ through seeking wider advice and perspectives on current and upcoming opportunities, challenges and risks

School governors set the strategy and long term vision of the school and monitor the performance and standards. The governing board is made up of people with a range of experience.

 We are always open to hearing your thoughts and feedback.